Home

ricky_gervais_sq-2942df50dcf3f1dbcb3e37e45f89e2043da542ad-s6-c10

Today is going to be a short post. It l will be about TV.

When it comes to watching movies and TV, I am a bit of a hermit. I don’t spend much time watching them as I’m generally occupied with school work, projects or hobbies. That said, when I do find a show I like, I start watching it avidly, often years after it has been on the air.

I am big fan of an anything by Ricky Gervais. I loved Extras, I’ve been watching The Office and I recently stumbled upon Life’s Too Short. Here’s a clip of a hilarious scene with Liam Neeson:

Ricky Gervais is the master of the creating comedy out of awkwardness. This awkwardness can arise when a character is unexpectedly eccentric, rendering everyone super uncomfortable…

…or when a character unexpectedly does something horrible…

…or digs a hole and just keeps digging.

Sometimes its very subtle. Check out the following scene where Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant reveal their insensitivity by confusing Warwick with someone in a wheelchair, treating dwarfism as a handicap (around 1:50).

You can see it affects Warwick even though he tries to hide it. It’s these little details that in my mind make Ricky Gervais the Master of Awkwardness.

 

Leave a Reply

