Home

wakeup

It’s 3 AM. I’m awake from a zombie apocalypse dream and I’m in a state of shock. But it’s not because of the dream.

It’s because I’ve only had 3 hours of sleep and I feel great.

I am amazed by this serendipitous moment. I had done Crossfit the previous day and my experience had told me I would feel even more miserable at my usual 6:00 wake up time on Tuesdays. It was so unexpected that my immediate thought was something was wrong with the world (is the big earthquake going to hit today?)

So, naturally now that I am awake, I am going to write about hacking sleep. Now, I am by no means an expert. Many of the things I have learned have come from Steve Pavlina’s wonderful blog which goes into detail on how he hacked sleep (from becoming a morning person to the ludicrous polyphasic sleep). Some of the ideas have also come from the 4-Hour Body by Tim Ferriss. Nonetheless, here are some tips that have helped me:

  1. Allergen Reduction – I know I am badly allergic to dust mites. I noticed a significant improvement after I had washed my comforters and sheets. 
  2. Almond Butter the Night Before – This tip comes from Tim Ferriss. The almond butter gives your body a moderate dose of blood sugar through the night so that your levels aren’t depleted when you wake up giving you that ‘groggy’ feeling. I dip carrots in one spoonful of it and it works
  3. A Wake Up App – These smartphone apps sense when your body is coming out of REM sleep, which is the ideal time to wake up as it is when your mind is most active. I have an iPhone and use Sleep Cycle. I’m sure there is an Android equivalent

Another thing that I’m going to look at in the next few days is the effect of Light Therapy lamps. Yesterday, I had one installed and tried it out. It is well-known that depression is associated sleep disorders. It is something I am looking into.

If you have any good sleeping tips, please share in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

